Categories
Poem

Fleeting From Despair.

I hear the train coming

I will clap my shoes and run south

I’ll climb on the misty mountain

And tell my plight to the drifting clouds

I’ll not go back

I’ll stay here

And when the cold rain descends

I’ll not run to hide

I’ll cry some more

Then wipe my eyes clean

And fall asleep under the open sky

Then will glittering stars come to blanket me

Then I’ll wander farther

My foot-soles bruised by sharp rocks

Seagulls and crows mocking me with their call as they sail overhead

And when I see the river rushing down the cliff

Il rush into it, and fall into oblivion of peace

For I am a soildier slain on the altar of Aphrodite

Holes

The holes in my life!

There’s a hole in my hand

No one to hold on to

From the hole in my shoe

Poking through is my toe

The hole in my heart is

A shark-bite rip

Choosing to bleed roses

So much troubles like nail

All over me,

I leak, I lick my wounds

And I shall carry on

By aasapress

Press Organization of the department of Archaeology & Anthropology, University of Ibadan.

2 replies on “Fleeting From Despair.”

Leave a comment