Categories
Vox pop

Student anthropologists and archaeologists speak on being consistent in faith.

A department that looks into facts and patterns of life like anthropology and archaeology being religious can be very challenging. Being steadfast in faith and upright in heart about religious issues might be sometimes wavering. This week students share their thoughts on being consistent in faith.

Anonymous

I’m indifferent about religion. When I feel good about it I participate when I don’t feel too good I just do me.

Michael, 300 level

As a student of Anthropology, when it comes to religious issues there are so many things about it but, with the world, I got to know that as an anthropologist you don’t have to be ethnocentric. You have to know a culture from its point of view. I’m a Christian but I don’t appreciate the church that preaches religion I mean a church that castigates another religion saying what they are doing is bad no! I don’t appreciate church like that. Even as such, I don’t like going there I don’t think I can go there for a whole month it’s not possible. I go to the mosque I listen to what they have to say I go to Jumat prayer I listen to what they say during Sermon I get the necessary information I need to get and discard the ones I don’t want that is why I’m a student I should know the difference from the right and wrong. To a point, I’ve been able to though it’s not easy I’ve been able to stay consistent with my faith. I don’t see religion as a problem especially if you are an anthropology student because they’ve taught you you know already every culture has its background in which religion is a major aspect of culture.

Even the traditional worshippers have their own belief that is their own belief and if you check everything except we want to be biased. I believe we all talk to God just through different means. The Christians talk to God through Jesus through the Holy Spirit, Muslims through the Prophet Muhammad, and the traditional worshippers through various gods. I wouldn’t even want us to call it traditional religion but African religion. I believe we all talk to the same God now what differentiates us is the moral life in which any part of the society can teach that. The department has not in any way affect my religion instead it has helped me to understand my religion better.

Anonymous

Being in a department that is based on scientific study or research and that majors in the humanities. I see religion as a part of human society it is a sign of reassurance for people also a solace many lean on. I take religion seriously but not extreme.

By Temitopedancer

My name is ÌyanuOlúwa Fágbiyè Tèmítọ́pẹ́ (Pen name: temitopedancer) I am the founder and team lead at My Cookery Zone. I'm an Anthropologist, multimedia Journalist / broadcaster, food blo
gger, and food writer.

Leave a comment